S.C.U.M Manifesto

After watching the movie on her life and reading S.C.U.M Manifesto, I learned just how radical and different Valerie Solanas was in comparison to any other person we have discussed in class. The movie helped me understand Valerie a lot more; she did go through a lot in her life and through her work she met a bunch of interesting people around New York City during the 60s. While reading her manifesto it seemed incredibly repetitive and extremely vulgar, but keeping her history and personal life in mind, I was able to understand where she was coming from. However, I did not agree with what she said in her manifesto. It was almost too much aggressive man hate for my liking. I found it interesting to see just how blunt she was in her writing, this aspect was refreshing to read.

Leave a comment